lady_liberty_mourns

I woke up on election day feeling fantastic. I had a spring in my step, and was looking forward to heading out to the polls, no matter how long the line. I took my 14 year old daughter, in the hopes that she would be a part of this historic election. And, as I cast my ballot for Hillary Clinton, I had to hold back the tears.

Well we all know how that turned out.

My daughter and I could not stay up for the results. I knew things were going badly. I had nightmares all night long – ones of giant orange dinosaurs chasing me and my family who were frantically trying to hide anywhere we could.

When I woke up at 5 am, I turned on the TV to find out he had won. I turned it back off, got up, and in zombie-like fashion, played Candy Crush. I could not scan my Facebook feed. I could not go on Twitter. And most importantly, I refused to watch the news. Instead, I watched I Love Lucy and The Brady Bunch until it was time to head to work.

Ah work. The morning after the election, my office had a staff retreat. As everyone waited in line for coffee, we all started talking about how stunned we were with the election results, and how despondent we all were about the future of our country. We voiced our fears and our concerns, and it made me realize I was dead right about something I had said to my husband earlier that morning.

I told him I was more thankful than ever to have my job, because I knew that no matter what hellishness was going on in the world outside, I got to wrap myself from 9-5 with folks who are creative, open-minded, and accepting; thankfully I work with a bunch of liberals. I was so very grateful for that on such a dark morning.

I’m also thankful that this same job that I love offers me health coverage. As costs for the Healthcare.gov options sky rocket, and as Trump is promising to repeal Obamacare, I no longer have to worry about where my health coverage is coming from and how much it’s going to cost me. I can’t tell you what a load off my mind that is.

I’m thankful that Trump is a huge liar – because I can only hope that all the hateful policies and promises he made during his campaign were just to get elected. He was never that conservative in the past, and I hope some of his former rational thinking bleeds into his administration. Yeah, I’m sort of banking on him reneging on every promise he made during his campaign.

Somehow I doubt it though. Newt Gingrich wanting a new House Un-American Activities Committee doesn’t exactly give me much to hope for.

The last thing I am thankful for, is that my father was not alive to see this. While I’d love to have him here, I really think he would’ve given up the first time he heard the words “President-elect Trump.”

I can tell you one thing I will do in a Trump world. I refuse to sing or stand for the national anthem until I see that Trump is really working for all Americans. Because as of now, he does NOT stand for the country I love. He does not stand for anything I believe in, and I refuse to show him any sort of respect until he earns it. I also refuse to call him President. Sorry, no can do.

I will give him a chance, though. I will not hope he fails because, unlike Rush Limbaugh who did just that when Obama took office, because I know that would be plain stupid for our country. I know he’ll do well, because with a Republican majority, there is nobody to cock-block him like they did to Obama at every turn. I just don’t know if the stuff he passes will be stuff I agree with.

So we shall see.

I learned one thing from this election…if you believe in Karma, you’re an asshole.

I say this because if there was ever a time in the history of the world where Karma should have come into play, it would have been for him to lose, and lose “bigly.”

