hello-my-name-is

In response to the Daily Prompt Say Your Name, where we are asked “Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?”

I am the baby of the family.

My brother was born first, and given every passed down name you could possibly get. First name after my dad (Stefan), and two middle names after both grandfathers (Andrew and David).

Then came my sister Wendy. I don’t know the origin of her name, perhaps Peter Pan, but her middle name is Maria after my father’s mother.

Then came sister Judy. My mom wanted to name her Tracy, but my father said no. “Wendy ends in a “y” and Tracy ends in a “y,” let’s come up with something different.”

And just like that my sister went unnamed for days and days. They just couldn’t decide on a name. When they were getting ready to leave the hospital, they had to pick something. My mom said the name “Judy” was written in at the bottom of one of the baby name lists, and they decided upon that.

Which we all find hysterical because it ends in a “y.”

My mom always told me that when they were expecting me, she told my dad “If it’s a girl, I get to name her Tracy. If it’s a boy, we’ll name him Adam.” But when I entered this world in December of 1964, my father’s mother was dying of cancer. He wanted to name me Mary.

Mary? I’m not a Mary. I know in song that Mary’s a Grand Old Name, but it just doesn’t fit me. Thankfully my mom fought, and won the fight. She finally got her daughter Tracy.

I like my name. It’s not too average, but it’s not far out either. And it’s spelled correctly. No “e” or “ie” – just T-r-a-c-y. I couldn’t imagine changing it. I wouldn’t feel comfortable with any other name. I mean, my mom had to fight for my name. How could I think of changing it?

Plus, there’s this groovy song written about me. How could I give that up?

