Blog art

This post is in response to today’s Daily Prompt, The Stat Connection where the question was asked, “Go to your Stats page and check your top 3-5 posts. Why do you think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it.”

I need to start this particular post with a WordPress gripe. A while back, WordPress changed their stats page, from one that I really liked, to one I don’t particularly care for. While I can see what my top posts are for a certain year, I can’t seem to find a spot where they show stats for all time. So, I can’t really answer this prompt accurately.

Rant done.

That being said, there are two past posts of mine that get views almost everyday, and they both involved nudity. How very Typical.

One post “On the Beach in the Buff” talked about skinny dipping and describes a time in my past when I regularly attended a nude beach in Jersey. That post, by my calculation, has been viewed 2,829 times by folks most likely trying to see some nudies. While I do have a photo posted, I blurred out faces and covered all the naughty bits out of respect for my old beach buddies.

The other post that gets a ton of hits is “The Naked Party.” Gee, I wonder why? That titillating tale has been viewed 1,797 times. It has actually had more traffic than the nude beach post over the past two years, but I wrote the beach post the year prior, so it had a head start.

Everything else falls very far behind these two somewhat provocative posts. A close third is when I attempt to debunk a time continuum flaw in the movie “Steel Magnolias.” That post, “Where Steel Magnolias Goes Awry” holds the record for most comments by far. Folks who have also noticed this serious screw up in the movie keep finding this post and commenting on it.

So why are these posts so popular? I have a feeling the skinny dipping one was shared somewhere on a nude beach enthusiasts page and gets traffic through that. As for the naked party? People are bored and curious. Sex sells. What can I say. I find it both sad and humorous.

 

