In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Can’t Drive 55.” Take the third line of the last song you heard, make it your post title, and write for a maximum of 15 minutes. GO!

Dog listen to music with a music player

I really listen to very little music. Why? Because the radio where I live in Central Virginia SUCKS. That includes both AM and FM. It all sucks.

The FM stations are super repetitive…The pop station is all Taylor Swift and Maroon 5. The rock station plays nothing but southern rock and Journey, and country music is totally out cause it’s just awful.

Don’t get me started on AM radio…it’s all right wing – I don’t even bother.

CD’s are no use to me either. My car, which is very old, only has a tape deck and even that doesn’t work.

My husband has Sirius in his car. He can listen to Howard Stern, but also has about a billion stations from news to comedy to music that he can listen to. But you know, even Sirius can get repetitive. There are certain music stations he has programmed, and I have to say, I’ve heard “Pulling Mussels from a Shell” and “My Sweet Lord” more in his car than any other place combined.

So, I’m an iPod girl. But just like my wheels, it’s old. Nano 5th generation – my daughter’s throw away when we bought her an iPod touch. It was a step up from my shuffle. Nothing but the best for mom, ha ha ha.

I have about 150 songs loaded on there, but I’ll be honest, they can become tiresome. So I listen to audio books and podcasts. They keep me wonderfully entertained while I walk each morning, and during my drive to and from work.

But for the record, the last song I heard was my daughter singing The Beatles’ “From Me To You” in the shower. Yeah, we are bringing her up on real music. And the third line, (if you skip the da da da da da dum dum dah’s), is “Just call on me and I’ll send it along with love from me to you.”

Which is pretty much a mother’s motto.

