At the end of last year I remember logging onto MapMyWalk.com and looking at my walking totals for 2014. I was amazed that I had walked over 400 miles. 402 to be exact.

I posted it to Facebook, and told all my coworkers of my acheivement, saying how I could have walked to New York City as that’s only 383 miles away. I was all puffed and proud, and determined to keep it up.

Enter 2015. So far this year? I’ve walked 524 miles. And it’s only the end of July. I am also on my second pair of sneakers. The pair I bought at the end of December 2014 had holes in them.

This amazes me. I was so proud of that 400 mile mark last year, and here I’ve blown that total out of the water by May. Could I make it to 1,000 miles by the year’s end?

Could I???

Some quick calculating tells me I’d have to walk no less than 95 miles per month for the rest of the year. I only walk in the mornings during the summer – It’s just too hot for me to go out during lunch. But once the fall comes, I should be able to log at least 5 miles a day.

And I would walk 500 more…

It’s worth a try, right?

