Selfie Fail with Lady Liberty

Selfie Fail with Lady Liberty

Last weekend my family and I spent a whirlwind weekend in New Jersey and New York. We planned on doing a lot of activities during our 48-hour sojourn in the tri-state area. Usually we don’t get to do half of them due to time and family constraints. But this time? We did it all.

Almost. Here is what we accomplished (in chronological order) on the “Honey Do” list:

0613141305[1]

1. White Castles
I was weaned on these things. The minute we crossed the Jersey border we found one and chowed down. However, once I pointed out to my daughter how the bottom bun sticks to the meat via a brown, steam induced goo, she put hers down and ate only fries.

Amateur.

My old house - looking a hell of a lot different.

My old house – looking a hell of a lot different.

2. Walk Around My Hometown
We visited both our childhood homes, and walked around downtown Leonia. I walked through the both Sylvan & Wood Parks, bought a losing lottery ticket, and went in and smelled the library.

0613141910a

3. Stanley Cup Hockey in a New Jersey Bar
Hubby said if the Rangers made it to game 6 we’d meet some friends and watch the game in a loud, crowded Jersey Bar. Enter the 101 Pub in Bogota, NJ. Too bad the Rangers lost.

Donna

5. Donna Pizza
Before calling it a night we drove into Palisades Park for a slice of heaven – Donna Pizza. Hubby spoke to the original owner who claims to remember him and his family. However, I have to say – it wasn’t as good as I remember it being. We tried to get Hiram’s Hot Dogs after that, but they were closed. It was the only food “must” that we missed.

0614140959

6. 9/11 Memorial
This was a place we felt we had to visit, if only briefly. Parking was near to impossible, so we found a semi-illegal spot nearby and took turns walking through the site and reflecting on what happened there almost 13 years ago. I’d love to visit the museum on our next visit to NYC.

0614141050

7. Bonus Round
Although we had no intention of stopping in Washington Square Park, we were driving by so we stopped to show the girls this iconic location. When we mentioned it being in the beginning of “When Harry Met Sally” they were like, “huh?” They were more interested in stories of my late teens shenanigans with my friend John in this park and the surrounding Greenwich Village.

0614141207

8. Central Park & the Zoo
It truly was a Saturday in the Park for our family. We ate dirty water dogs, posed with the statue of Balto, and let the girls play in Heckscher Playground, where I am convinced my youngest got some sort of poison ivy. They also posed on every bridge we crossed convinced they were all in the movie “Enchanted.” I also showed them the Plaza which they know from “Home Alone 2.”

Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 10.46.20 AM

Then it was off to the Central Park Zoo. I have to tell you, if hubby hadn’t gotten in for free due to his veteran status, I’d have been pissed at the money spent for admission. Other than the seals & penguins, which were super cute, the zoo was a snore. The snow leopard was a no-show, and the tropical rain forest exhibit was too hot (and too smelly) to really enjoy.

9. The Tracy/John Reunion
By far the best part of my trip was seeing my oldest friend John again. I hadn’t seen him since we moved from Jersey in 1997, and I vow to not let another 16 years go by without seeing him again. I have to say more than a few tears sprang to my eye when I hugged my old high school buddy.

highline

10. Walked the High Line
One of  my biggest regrets of the whole trip is forgetting my camera. This is most apparent during our visit to the High Line, where the only decent shot is this one, showing my chubby ass and wrinkled skirt. But to be honest, I was so busy catching up with my old buddy that I probably wouldn’t have shot many pictures anyway.

The High Line was much narrower than I thought it would be – and it was fairly crowded. I found most times we had to walk single file, which made story telling and catching up somewhat of a chore. But I loved it nonetheless.

11. Broke Away from the Family
After the High Line hubby took the kids and I went off with John and his friend Rory. We bar hopped, having drinks at The Maritime,  The Stonewall and the Monster. I almost fell not once, but twice, and this was before I had a drop to drink. We then went back to his apartment and got Chinese take-out. I had the best egg roll I’ve had since roughly 1996.

During this time, hubby and the girls checked off items on their own “to do” lists. They went to Madison Square Garden, Times Square and the Disney store, which much to my youngest daughter’s chagrin, had no Frozen dolls in stock.

4bc1125e799f2c8d10205f96fcb0b9f2

12. Ate Breakfast at a Diner
This should have been a highlight of our trip. We tried this place on the recommendation of a friend, but $50.oo later, we left with our plates still half full. The food seriously sucked.

0615141219

13. Ellis Island & the Statue of Liberty
We got to Liberty State Park by 10 am, but tickets to actually enter the Statue of Liberty were already sold out. I mean, it was Father’s Day after all. After a quick, but very scenic ferry ride to Ellis Island, we poked around the museum and found my father’s family’s name on the Wall of Honor.

0615141141

The Andrew Bucek Family. My dad and his parents came when he was only 4 years old. He’s 90 now.

 

Liberty

After Ellis Island we headed over to the Statue of Liberty to walk around the grounds and shoot a zillion photos. The amount of people getting off the ferry boats to see this world famous icon was staggering. People of every possible ethnicity debarking by the hundreds. It was really amazing.

And my kids thought so too. They kept saying that they’d seen Lady Liberty a million times, but to actually be there in person…it was something really special.

The day was great, but after two days of non-stop walking we were tired, and it was time to make the 6 hour drive home to Virginia. But first,

14. More White Castles
We had to stop one more time for White Castles. In Jersey City. Uff da, was that an adventure. This White Castle was of the old school variety, with no tables. Just a single blue counter along the window with stools. Took me back to those days at the Nungesser’s White Castle, with the counter ladies and their green eye shadow.

Our trip was a huge success and most of that success was due to the fact that we kept it simple. We purposely did not call most of our family and friends who still live in the area. Because it was a trip whose sole purpose was for the four of us to see the sights, reminisce about our childhoods, and share with our girls what our neighborhood was like.

And we did it all. Mission accomplished.

 

