NJ

In less than 48 hours I will be back in my home turf – cruising around the streets of Leonia, gazing at the NYC skyline, and eating White Castles.

Hell, eating a lot of things if we’re going to be brutally honest. I just hope that all the walking I will be doing will counter balance the massive quantities of Hiram’s hot dogs, Donna’s Pizza and sack after sack of murder burgers that I’ll be ingesting.

To celebrate our 20th wedding anniversay hubby and I decided to take a quick trip up to our old stomping grounds to revisit where it all began. We are taking the kids with us, because quite frankly, I’d feel guilty going without them. We don’t get to travel much, and the thought of heading off for a fun weekend in New York City without our two girls seemed like a shitty thing to do. We are a family and we do everything together…why not this?

It’ll just be the four of us – no outsiders. The last time we were up north everybody monopolized our time and left us with few opportunities to do the things we wanted to do. So we vowed that this trip would be free of family and friends, with one exception for each of us. Hubby is seeing one of his six brothers, and I am going to visit my friend John – my very best and oldest friend who I have not seen since I moved from New Jersey in 1997.

Other than those two planned events, we are going to play it by ear. Yes, we want to visit the Central Park Zoo, and Ground Zero, and the Statue of Liberty – see my family name on the Wall of Honor at Ellis Island. But you know the old saying – time flies when you’re having fun. If we get to do half of those things I’ll be amazed – especially with a family of late sleepers. I’ll be setting the alarm at 6 am – you can be sure of that.

But aside from Times Square and the big city, I’m also looking forward to just poking around my old home town. Walking the streets, looking in the shop windows, and remembering the places that were there when I was a kid. I’ll walk through Wood Park and remember the countless softball games I played in the spring league. I’ll go into the public library just to smell the heavy scent of books and paper that always permeated those rooms. And if there’s time, I might just make the walk from Fort Lee Road all the way to Oakdene Avenue – my old route home from school.

I can’t wait.

Screw it. I’m setting the hotel alarm for 5 am. Sleeping is a waste of time anyway.

