Goodbye

I finally got a new computer. 

My poor, tired, but much beloved G5 tower has been unplugged and replaced by a speedy, nifty Mac Mini. And zip-a-dee-do-dah, is this thing fast!

I had to make the leap when my old computer got corrupted my a Minecraft download. Yeah, that’s right. My daughter, with my permission, tried to download a free version of Minecraft, which of course didn’t work because my computer was so old that virtually no games would work on it. 

The next morning I went to go online, and found that my homepage was different on both Safari and Firefox. I suspected the download from the night before immediately and Googled it. Sure enough turns out it was the culprit. But at the time I figured little harm was done as I was able to restore my old internet settings in a few seconds.

After work that day I went to work on a freelance project that was due the next day. I started up InDesign, and it crashed. Okay – not the first time, won’t be the last. 45 minutes later after rounds of restarts, fsck reboots, and plist replacements I still could not get one single application in Creative Suite to work. No Photoshop. No Illustrator. And no InDesign. I even tried re-intalling the software from scratch.

Nothing. I was screwed.

I even spent the night running anti-virus software hoping the one little bug that was keeping my design programs from running could be found and stomped like a cockroach. But even that didn’t work.

Time for a new computer!

The Mac fellow at the store, after hearing my tale of woe, suggested re-installing the operating system, but that would mean phone calls to my daughter’s mac friend to borrow the disks, blah blah blah. Let’s face it. My computer was old. It was time to retire it after close to a decade of service.

So, I forged ahead and plopped down over 8 bills for my small, compact and super fast little Mac Mini. Right now I am running a 30 day trial of the most recent versions of InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator. I’ll buy the software soon – that’ll be another near fatal blow to my wallet. 

But I feel like I’ve gone through a time machine. No more InDesign 2? It’s a little sad – we were quite intimate. I knew ID2 oh so very well. And now it’s time to figure out what all these new fangled gadgets in my dock do. 

 

