ghostbusters logo logoBack in the summer of 1984, I returned home from a semester abroad in Vienna. Within hours of going through customs, I ate White Castles, drank some Buds, and turned on MTV.

It didn’t take too long for me to realize that I was very out of touch with what was hot in the states. For the past 4 months I had watched almost no television; my viewing history included an episode of “Magnum PI”  and “Little House on the Prairie” in German. And music? I’d listened to Blue Danube radio which played American songs that were already out back home – songs like “Relax” and “Sweet Dreams.” And of course my stash of mixed tapes. Nothing new there.

It was during these first days home that I saw the video for Ray Parker’s “Ghostbusters,” along with the trailer for the movie. Seems there was an cultural phenomenon going on and I was missing it. The video was very intriguing – boring segments of Ray Parker Jr. and the girl with the perm interspersed with scenes from the movie, and celebrities singing “Ghostbusters!”

I had to see this movie!

We left for our annual vacation on Martha’s Vineyard just days after my return, and even up there you could really see how popular this movie was. Every T-shirt shop, post card stand, and souvenir joint had Ghostbusters stuff. The ghost with the “nuh-uh” circle was printed on anything and everything. I dragged my parents to see it at the Edgartown Town Hall, which was where you saw movies in Edgartown before they opened a traditional movie theater.

You know, there are movies that take time to grow on you – or movies that start off slow, but build. Some you come to appreciate after thinking about them for a while. And then there are movies that you love from almost the very start. “Ghostbusters” was one of those movies for me. Now I understood what the craze was all about.

I’ve watched it a zillion times. There are lines that stick in my head, lines like “Maybe I’ve got a milkbone,” “Nice Shootin’ Tex,” “My uncle thought he was Saint Jerome” and “You never studied.” I know that Ted and Annette Fleming have a small carpet cleaning business in receivership. And I know what the magic word is. I still have my VHS tape of the movie, recorded from HBO back in the late 80’s.

My husband likes the sequel which makes me question his taste.

And if you’re in the mood, here’s a link to the video. Personally, I like this song better than “I’ve Got a New Drug.”

