rainy-day-window

Next Saturday is my daughter’s high school graduation. We are having family come up from Florida, down from New York, and in from Pennsylvania. My house is very, very small, so we are relying on our yard/garage/deck to make the after party festive and roomy. The only thing that can ruin it is rain.

The ladies in the front office at the high school said they have never, ever been rained out. It may have drizzled for a portion of the graduation, but in all the years that they can recall, Fluvanna County High School has never had to move the ceremonies indoors.

Rain would suck. I would only be allowed to have 7 people attend the graduation ceremony in the event of rain, and I’ve got 14 coming. After that I’d have to host a party for 16+ in a 12 x 20 room. Sound like fun?

And here is the forecast…

Picture 7Thanks, Mother Nature. You suck.

But you know what? It’s still a week away – jet streams could shift, right? RIGHT? I mean, it may not actually rain during the the ceremony or party. It may rain the day before, or at 8 pm that night. Right? RIGHT? I am just going to focus on that 40%. It’s less than half – the odds are still in my favor.

I went through this when I held a Halloween party for my youngest last October. It was an outdoor party, and if it rained I was screwed. Early forecasts called for rain, but it held off until later that night. Question is, can I dodge another bullet?

On the upside? Most of the company coming is my family, and they will excuse/help/pitch in for anything and everything. It will be alright even if it does rain.

But I don’t want it to. I really don’t want to see any rain.

“Don’t tell me not to live, just sit and putter
Life’s candy and the sun’s a ball of butter
Don’t bring around a cloud to rain on my parade!”

Keep your fingers crossed.

WEATHER UPDATE!!

As of this morning, Saturday, May 18th the forecast is as follows…

Picture 9Now, I’m singing That’s the way, uh huh uh huh, I like it, uh huh uh huh!

