IMG_2313

Each and every Mother’s Day I do the same thing, weather permitting. I buy plants, herbs, veggies, bags of potting soil and I get my garden ready for the upcoming growing season. It’s quite possibly my favorite day of the whole year.

When we moved into this house in 2001 my little side garden was pretty bare. There was a bush here and there, and a few hostas, but it was basically a blank canvas. Now, after 12 years of tinkering in the soil, it’s looking fairly grown in and I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished.

It was a journey figuring out what would grow where and what wouldn’t. I’ve lost my fair share of plants, which annoys me to no end. I’ve also learned that there are bare spots where nothing will grown because there are too many roots underneath.  That is where I place pots filled with impatiens or some other colorful plant.

Last year I decided to grow a maple tree. I love the color of their fall foliage, but I was too cheap to go out and buy a tree. Instead I found seed pods on a tree in town and planted it in a pot. My sapling is on it’s 2nd year and has encouraged me to try growing another. This year I got seeds from a Japanese Maple – I hope they sprout.

We also added a pond in a spot that was pretty much good for nothing – the soil was always dense and wet, and it got no sun. Now it’s the centerpiece of my garden. We get tadpoles every year hoping they will grow into frogs, and we have two Koi that spent the winter in my daughter’s science class. Time to get those bad boys back in the pond.

My deck has also become a garden of sorts. I grow tomatoes and cucumbers in containers, and have an herb garden as well. Last year’s lemon thyme, rosemary and parsley were wonderful accompaniments to many a summer dinner.

My veggies? They never do too well. I think I yielded 4 tomatoes from my plant last year, and the only cukes I grew resembled spiky golf balls. They were really tasty though. Even though I’ve proven to not have a green thumb for veggies, I don’t give up. I’ll keep trying different varieties until I find one that works for me.

Of course the cicadas are ruining it a bit for me this year. Everywhere I turn I’m finding shells or newly-hatched cicadas, and I don’t like bugs, so it’s sort of like gardening in a mine field. One flew in my daughter’s hair yesterday and she screamed, threw my trowel 6 feet in the air and ran in a circle until I could deem her bug-free. Then she went in the house for the remainder of the day.

Another blight on this year’s garden-o-rama was a slight “doh!” moment on the part of my hubby. One day while he was out doing some pond/yard work he got it into his head to put out all my garden decorations. He even broke some to use in ways he felt would look nice. This is such a major faux pas, you don’t even know. Half of the fun of my Mother’s Day planting spree is to find the perfect spot for each little bird house and garden spike. I was mad. I don’t think he’ll do it again next year.

Whatever your Mother’s Day ritual is, I hope you are having as good a day as I am – the weather is beautiful and the sun is shining bright in a clear, blue sky. Hell, what am I doing typing this? Time to get back outside and do my thang.

