499030

My cats proved to me last night that they are made of more than just fluff and whiskers.

My male cat, Dodger has always proven himself to be resourceful. He likes to go outside in the wee hours of the morning for his pre-dawn prowl, but with no cat door in the house, he needs a human to release him into the black void where all things that creep and slither are fair game. That human is always me because I am the early riser in the family. And my boy is smart enough to realize this.

Weekdays are no problem for us. He hears the alarm go off at 5:30 and the first thing I do (after my morning tinkle) is let him out. By the time my tea water is ready, our female feline, Olive has decided to join her brother, and out she goes as well. It’s like clockwork.

But on the weekends I don’t need to get up at the crack of dawn. But Dodger could care less. There are all sorts of kitty activities that he is missing out on while stuck in the house! So, he will enter my room at 5:30 or so and start messing with stuff. His go-to move is the blinds. He’ll jump on the night stand and paw at the blinds which make a clatter that is impossible to sleep through.

I swipe blindly and usually send him to the floor. A few minutes go by and then the crying starts. If I’m able to ignore his mournful meows, he’ll come back in and start knocking things, namely my glasses, off the nightstand. By this time (6 am or so) I’m up.

Mission accomplished.

Olive, on the other hand, is never a bother. Until last night.

Someone forgot/neglected to refill their food bowl. Olive, feeling the need for a midnight snack, found her bowl kibble-free and was not a happy camper. So, she decided to just help herself. I was awoken by the sound of the cabinet door, behind which is the bag of cat food, being opened slightly and then banging shut. That clever little minx was trying to open the cabinet where the cat food was. She knew it was behind that door, and she was trying to get to it.

I found this astonishing! I got up and quietly filled the bowl, showering her with praise and sweet talk – none of which she was even remotely interested in. I climbed back in bed and after watching 2 episodes of “Family Ties” in the wee hours of the night, managed to sort of fall back asleep.

Dodger, who must have been pouting over his sister receiving all the praise, upped his morning wake up routine. In today’s dawns early light he managed to jump up on a very high shelf and began messing with my daughters collection of happy meal toys. One by one the figurines were knocked to the floor. Then he jumped in the middle of her Lego collection and in the process sent little teeny fireman and police officers scattering to destinations unknown.

Needless to say, I was up at 6:10 this fine, Saturday morning.

Do any of you have clever kitties? What do they do?

