Here it is Monday, and I’m still scratching my head wondering where my weekend went. This happens to me week after week, and I have to admit – it’s beginning to get under my skin.

The culprits are not evil villains whose master plan is to ruin my weekend, they are simply my family who like everyone else on the planet, have things that need getting done. The problem is, every errand, project and outing seems to involve me.

Let’s take a few minutes and dissect my weekend. The kids had Friday off, so in the morning I took my 17 year old to get her learner’s permit. I know, I know she should’ve been driving by now. But she was both lazy about studying for the test, and scared shitless about getting behind the wheel. In any case, she passed with flying colors.

After a few hours at the office we went out shopping for Halloween decorations. My youngest had her heart set on buying this one motion activated ghoul – it was $25 at Target, and although I wasn’t nuts about it, she was, so we bought it.

After a dinner of overdressed salad (yuck) at TGIF (the girls choice, not mine) I grabbed some groceries, filled up the tank, and headed home. It was 7:00 pm by the time we walked in the door.

Saturday morning my oldest was taking the SAT’s so I was up before 6 a.m. After dropping her off my youngest and I went to Lowe’s and Walmart, followed by an hour of laundry & dishes. After picking my daughter up from SATs I took her to lunch, the market and then came home to clean my closets, which took a few hours. Then we watched Prom Night – the old Jamie Lee Curtis version. What a piece of shit.

And talking of pieces of shit, the motion activated ghoul we bought only went off if you waved your arms maniacally and screamed at the top of your lungs. We deemed it an epic failure, and packed him back in his box.

That meant a trip back into town on Sunday to return the defective ghoul. That turned into Halloween costume shopping where I spent 2 hours in an overly warm Kmart slipping costumes over my 10 year old’s head, and subsequently off again. Lunch and a trip to the market ate up more of my afternoon. We didn’t get home until 4:30.

I then had to put highlights in my hair, shower, and then drive my oldest to a party at 6. Back home, make dinner, eat, clean, and by 8 pm I was able to sit. But I had to go back out at 9 to pick up my daughter from the party.

As I was driving in the dark, which I hate, to pick her up, I was thinking about the weekend, and I kind of got mad. My girls ask a ton of me, and I comply 90% of the time. But every now and then I have to put up my hand and say “no.”

I tell them that mommy needs some time to herself. Week after week I use up 85% of my weekend on stuff for them: driving here, shopping there, homework and projects and fixing the “mom, I’m boreds”. Then all week long I work for the man, earning a paycheck.

I can’t remember the last time I sat down to read a book. Or to finish my knitting. I’ve always got to BE somewhere. And the kicker? When I tell them “no” I feel horribly guilty, like I’ve let them down. Then if I cave and do what they want I do it angrily…that’s not cool either.

So far my next 2 out of 3 weekends are booked. Maybe I should just take a weekday off…

