With the Presidential election looming near it’s getting so I can’t stand to be on Facebook these days. Instead of innocuous posts about kids and television, folks are bashing candidates like cage fighters, and it’s annoying the hell out of me.

I know squat about politics. Much like chemistry, basketball or Suduko, I have no aptitude for it. I think it may be because it’s too complex. There are times I’ll try to sit down and understand the issues and the entire process of it all, but 10 minutes later my eyes are glazed over and my brain has wandered far, far away.

The debates were last night, but they didn’t start until 9 which is bad for me. That’s my snuggle in bed and drift off to sleep hour – and let me tell you – the debate made that task that much easier. I tried to listen – but I don’t think either of them were telling the truth so it made it really boring. It was all “I’m gonna do this and I’m gonna do that,” much like phrases such as “I’ll start my diet on Monday,” as you shovel in another slice of cheesecake.

So I wake up this morning and check Facebook and it’s non-stop posts about who won and who lost and he sucks and he blows and I’m not a racist. Facebook has become a “nyah-nyah” cyberspot – a place to flip a political bird to your “friends.”

I don’t discuss politics on Facebook. Partly because I have no business doing it because as I’ve stated prior, I know squat. But I’ll tell you this – do these folks think that their posts bashing the President are going to change my mind? One person wrote:

Didn’t the auto industry get saved though? How did that kill jobs? Isn’t much of our debt a result of the war which Bush got us mixed up in? And as for playing golf I found this online – albeit from 2011, but it’s somewhat telling:

So far, President Obama has taken 61 vacation days after 31 months in office. At this point in their presidencies, George W. Bush had spent 180 days at his ranch where his staff often joined him for meetings. And Ronald Reagan had taken 112 vacation days at his ranch.

Among recent presidents, Bill Clinton took the least time off — 28 days.

I don’t post about politics because I kind of don’t know all the facts – I think many of my friends should follow my lead and not post a broad statement that they heard on Fox news.

We need less “nyah – nyahing” and more facts. Playing the blame game? That’s the Real Housewives method of debating. So I challenged all my Facebook friends. If they love a candidate so much, why not post about all the good stuff he’s done rather than bashing the opponent? Maybe it’s because they really don’t love their candidate – maybe they just hate Obama.

It’ll be interesting to see how many facebook middle fingers I get today.

Postcript: My first comment to my Facebook challenge? “Obama sucks ass.”

I need new facebook friends.

