When I woke up today at 4:45 a.m., it was raining and muggy. But you know what? I was singing “Oh What a Beautiful Morning,” because I had nobody to tend to but myself.

School’s out. Not just for a week’s vacation, but for the whole summer. Today is the first day where there were no lunches to make, no breakfast orders to take, no hair to brush and no kids to rush. This gloomy, wet Monday morning belonged to me.

So what did I do? I drank some tea, took my first summertime morning walk, and then came home and started a blog to log my morning walks. I fixed my hair, and made oatmeal with cranberries and honey. And the kids slept on.

It was freaking glorious.

Of course with everything there is a trade off. While my morning will be quiet for the next few months, I will be barraged with endless phone calls and iChat messages from my two girls regarding every topic from how to heat up pizza to where I keep the Mod Podge. But who cares. I get two blissfully peaceful hours each and every morning.

