Where the hell have I been? For anyone who cares, I’ve been busy, and quite frankly not in the writing mood. Work and family obligations have been wiping me out, and by the time evening rolls around, all I want to do is sink into my chair and watch an  hour of TV before I have to go to sleep and start all over again the next morning.

Days have gone by where I thought to myself, “gee, how long has it been since I blogged?” Then the guilt for neglecting my little online journal washes over me, but with nothing positive to write about, and no time to write it, posts have been few and far between.

When I get overly busy like I have been in the past two weeks, I think of my mom. She raised 4 kids and had a full time job. I wonder if there were days she was tired to the bone and wanted to burst into tears while making dinner. But she had bonuses that I don’t have. She worked for the school system, and got out of the office at 4 – plus she had summers off. Her commute was 5 minutes. And she had friends and outside activities. She bowled on Mondays. She could visit her girlfriend Dorothy where they would chit chat over coffee.

With my job, commute and daily trip to the market, I’m usually not done with dinner until close to 7 pm. Then there’s homework with my daughter and if hubby is working, dishes to do. I usually don’t get to really put my feet up until 8 pm, and when you get up at 4:45 am, eyes begin to droop by 9:30.

Weekends offer little rest either. There is always someplace my kids want to go, or need to be. And laundry. And gardening. And bathrooms to paint. I’m so thankful for Friday nights when I leave the office and head home. But before I know it, Sunday night is here and I’ve done little for myself during my 48 hours of down time.

Sometimes this monotonous routine makes me want to scream. It makes me wonder why life is more work and less fun. And then I think of women who have to work multiple jobs to keep their family fed, and I wonder how they do it. Hell, one job is about killing me. I can’t imagine having to work nights and weekends too.

That thought makes me thankful for my 8-5 and my weekends that are not my own.

