I do believe it might rain like a mother f@cker

Ok, everybody and his brother knows that Hurricane Irene is barreling up the east coast. After Katrina, Floyd, Andrew and Camille, I realize hurricanes are nothing to joke about or take lightly. However, most hurricanes that hit the east coast are pretty tame. Strong winds, heavy rain, a few rattling stop signs…as long as you have batteries, food, water and shelter it’s nothing more than a day where you watch the rain, play board games and clean up your yard the following day. Like earthquakes in California, the chance of hurricanes comes with the territory of life on the coastal eastern states.

I have to admit, I am sort of excited about the arrival of Irene. See, I like weather. When a good thunder storm or snow storm rolls in to our area, I get fairly energized…I check the weather channel and the conditions out my window; I make sure we are all battened down and buttoned up, and I hunker down and wait for the show to start.

When a big rainstorm hits in the summer, my girls and I will kick off our shoes, open the umbrellas and run out in the storm – provided there is no lighting, of course. If there is lightning, we may head out to the garage, open the doors and watch the downpour. If it’s winter, we sit in our front room and stare at the bending trees from our glass front house. Yes, bending trees plus  a glass front house would turn most people into first class nervous Nellies, but my attitude is, I can’t do anything about it, so I may as well watch mother nature’s display.

When it snows, especially if the storm is supposed to hit over night, I am almost giddy with anticipation when I wake up. If there is no snow on the ground, I am severely bummed out…almost as much as my kids. If there is snow on the ground, I pull up the shades in every room so I can see the snow from every corner of my snug little house. As soon as the kids are up we dress up and head out to grab the sleds from the garage rafters. They are satisfied with my pulling them around the yard until we can drag daddy out of bed and head to the golf course for some serious sledding.

Even shoveling is enjoyable for me. I will often go out and shovel before the snow has stopped falling – I just like being a part of the storm. My husband thinks I am nuts for this, but my kids love me for it. Many times they come out and join me.

It’s not only bad weather that brings me pleasure. On Tuesday, the day the earthquake hit, I took a walk at noon and was in absolute awe of the weather. The sky was a really deep blue, and the clouds which dotted the sky were a fluffy, pure white. The sky almost looked manufactured it was so stunningly beautiful.

I also love when the weather begins to change. After a long, hot summer, there is nothing like that first September/October day that dawns crisp, clear and cool – the type of day where you realize you might not have too many more days in which you can wear your sandals and capris. Equal to that is the first day where while crocuses and daffodils are beginning to bud, the sun burns warm and steady, and you throw off your jacket and get out in the garden.

As I sit here watching the ever changing track of Irene, I keep hoping her path will veer slightly westward so that my region gets just a little more than a rainy day. Do I sound utterly stupid? Perhaps from the perspective of one who has lived through a storm that was truly life-threatening. Maybe I’m got a bit of the heart of a storm chaser in me. It’s possible that if I lived in a state where tornadoes did occur, I’d be out there in my sable wagon with my video camera  at my side trying to find a twister on tape.

Could be that because I live in an area that isn’t struck by harsh weather on a regular basis, that I am foolishly fearless. And I wonder if when one of those swaying trees actually does crash through my glass front house I will be singing a different tune when it comes to stormy weather.

