Our House in the middle of our street

Leaving for home after a vacation sucks. But pulling into your driveway after a 12 hour car ride is sheer bliss, especially when you have 2 kitties that you want to scoop up in your arms and cover with kisses.

As soon as the car door opened, our one cat Dodger raced to greet us with scolding meows. Our other cat, Olive, was nowhere to be seen but that’s not totally out of the ordinary. She’s a hunter and is often out on the prowl.

We began to unpack and I headed to the store for the requisite milk and eggs. The house is an absolute oven with the AC shut down during a week that had record breaking heat, so I was glad to get into my cool car and the even more frigid grocery store.

I am glad at the sight of our one kitty laying on the floor, purring and kneading the air with outstretched paws – he is glad that we are home. But, it’s been more than 3 hours and our other kitty is still nowhere to be seen. It’s really beginning to bum me out. I will not be able to relax until I see her striped little fanny sashay through the door.

In the meantime, I have to get laundry done, cook dinner and prepare for my return to work in the morning. Oh, and try to subdue the rising panic my kids are feeling at the idea of having a missing kitty.

7:30 pm addendum: Olive is home safe and sound. Life is really freaking good.

