By the Sea by the sea by the beautiful sea

Today was our first official day of vacation, and we spent most of it at the beach. The morning started off cloudy, which was kind of a bummer as we wanted to get to the sandy dunes of Flagler Beach as early as possible.

After breakfast I decided I could care less if it was cloudy out and we packed a lunch and headed for the ocean. I was glad we did. As many years as I have been coming down to Palm Coast to visit my dad and his wife I always forget that the weather at my dad’s house may not be the same weather at Flagler, a mere 6 miles down the road.

The beach was overcast, but was far from cloudy. I immediately grabbed for my can of sunscreen only to realize my husband must have broken the nozzle…it would not emit the fine spray of SPF 50 protection my skin thirsted for. Instead, a thin drizzle of watery lotion spurted out. I guess beggars can’t be chosers. I slathered both kids with it in the hopes it would be enough protection.

And boy did the sun come out. I, counting on cloud cover, did NOT bring my sunglasses or bother to put contact lenses in. Needless to say I was blinded for a good part of the day. I did go to the car and dig out a crooked, dirty, VA State Trooper hat out of the trunk and spent the remainder of the afternoon looking like a real fashion plate on the beach. But at least I had less of a glare after that.

It got hot too. But, not wanting to lose my prescription glasses to waves of the Atlantic Ocean, I didn’t venture in past my hips. The water was amazing. Cool enough to refresh, but not so cold that you took 45 minutes to ease your way into the water. With the exception of the 15 minutes they took to eat their lunch and feed the birds, my kids were in the ocean for the entire 4 hours we were at there.

As I watched them boogie board and frolic in the water, it brought me back to the years I spent at the beach as a kid. We went to Martha’s Vineyard, where the water was MUCH colder and MUCH rougher. And, just like my girls, I spent the entire time at the beach in the water riding waves and getting bamboozled and having a freaking blast.

I’m glad I can give my kids the same kind of vacation that I remember as a child so fondly. It makes me feel great. Now, the girls are in the pool awaiting showers and dinner. I do believe they may sprout gills by the end of our time here.

And tomorrow? Mom wears her contacts, her sunglasses and gets busy with a boogie board.

