There are certain movies, that even though you’ve seen them a bazillion times, are like a soothing balm on a boring Sunday afternoon. Those movies that you whisper “yessss” when you discover they are on while you snuggle a bit deeper into the couch.

Do not confuse this with a “best of” list. There will be no “Casablanca” or “Citizen Kane” on this list – some of these movies may actually be considered bad by a few of you. But there is something about them that I love – something that keeps me coming back again and again.

My list is incomplete to say the least. I can never remember all of my favorites of anything when the question is put before me. But here are a few that I can think of for now.

War Games
“Shall we play a game?” Not only does this movie have a bunch of decent lines (I’d piss on a spark plug if I thought it would help), but Matthew Broderick is so fucking cute I want to take him home to meet my mom & dad. Ally Sheedy is annoying enough to be a credible 80’s high school girl. And once again, Dabney Colman plays a prick.

3 o’Clock High
An 80’s high school movie that totally flew under most people’s radar. Nerdy school store manager Jerry Mitchell spends a day at school trying to get out of a 3 pm fight with the brand new bully Buddy Ravel. Very funny & quirky with a fight scene that does not disappoint.

Some Like It Hot
I could write and entire blog post about the many levels of awesomeness in this movie. I still never tire of hearing the one legged jockey joke, listening to Marilyn Monroe singing “Running Wild,”  or Sweet Sue yelling “BEANSTALK!” And The Sheboygan Conservatory never churned out two classier dames than Josephine and Daphne.

Moonstruck
Every character in this movie is a freaking gem right down to Chrissy, the poor sweatered gal in Cammererie’s bakery who says, “This is the most tormented man I have ever known. I’m in love with this man, but he doesn’t know that, ’cause I never told him, ’cause he could never love anybody since he lost his hand and his girl.” The only bad thing about this movie is when it’s over. It makes me miss New York, the World Trade Center, and makes me depressed that I’m not Italian. I would’ve banged Nicholas Cage on the first night too.

The Full Monty
I can’t say enough good things about this movie. Crap, I wish it were on right now so I could watch it! A group of 6 unemployed blokes decide to try stripping Chippendale’s style for one night only to make some quick cash. The background music is great, every character delivers, and the movie is LOADED with memorable quotes like “He’s fat, you’re thin and your both fucking ugly,” and “The Lunchbox has Landed.”

That’s my five for now. I’m sure I’ll have another bunch some day when I have nothing particularly riveting to blog about.

