Are we there yet? Are we there yet? Are we there yet?

This is going to be one humdinger of a 4th of July weekend. Our little family, sans our two adorable kitties, will pack our gear into my old station wagon and chug along the interstate towards New York.

Destination: Cuddebackville with a Layover in Leonia.

It’s been a few years since we have visited the family and friends who reside in this sleepy little upstate NY town, and I for one am ready to return. I am looking forward to sitting around the fire pit at night, tipsy and laughing, talking about everything and nothing at all. It’s quite relaxing.

I am happy that my husband going to see a lot of his family members that he hasn’t seen in a long time. He has five brothers, and miraculously, they will all be present and accounted for this weekend. The six of them have not been together at one time since our wedding 17 years ago. It should be interesting.

I am also anxious and excited to visit my hometown of Leonia. I want to just park the car and walk the streets and visit the park and take pictures and remember. Remember all those little places where a small piece of my childhood still remains.

I want a Hiram’s hot dog. I want to buy button licorice from Bischoff’s Ice Cream. I want to drive down Oakdene Avenue and see my old home. I want to take my kids to the Leonia pool, where endless summer hours were spent swimming and sunning and waiting 30 minutes to go back in the water after eating ice cream.

I want to visit NYC and cross the George Washington Bridge. I want to see Jersey from across the river while cruising down the Henry Hudson. I want to eat White Castles in Central Park.

I think I’m going to run out of time before I run out of stuff to do. Ain’t it always the way…

