Last week I re-began my diet. I have also spent the week trying to talk my two daughters into eating better and getting more active. Last night we decided to try one of the OnDemand exercise programs, but it was really hard. The moves seemed impossible to follow and it made me feel old and clumsy. My kids didn’t fare any better. We finished the 10 minute routine out of breath and somewhat discouraged at our lack of rhythm.

I’m out of shape – like really out of shape. And really over weight. It bums me out because I remember a time when I would exercise a lot. Granted, it was in my teens and twenties, but I wonder how and why I lost that urge. I can recall times as a teenager when after reading the latest Glamour or Seventeen, I would become totally disgusted with my body. I would consequently put on some shorts and head out for a jog, determined to whip my Slovak ass into shape.

I don’t jog. How did I ever jog?

In high school I lifted weights too. My friend John had a barbell set he wasn’t using and gave it to me.  I bought a book on female body building and began pumping iron in my room. By senior year I had decent biceps and a pretty flat stomach. I continued the trend through college. I could lat pull 110 pounds, and do dozens of sit ups at the highest bench incline.

After college I joined a gym and did aerobic classes 5 nights a week. I could wear spandex. I shopped at Express. Where did that girl go?

Gee, I know. She’s 20 years older buried under a ton of flab, drinking too much wine and not watching what she eats. I had to put a stop to that way of life and try to get back some of my former self. I can’t join a gym – not in my budget. So, I will do what I can with walking, using my trusty exercise bike, and revisiting my old VHS work out tapes.

Enter Jane Fonda. I used to do her tapes all the time. But for the last dozen plus years they have sat unused with all the other VHS tapes. I still have a VCR, but it’s in my daughter’s room – she’s the only one who still likes to watch our old tapes. But her room in small, and has little floor space; not optimum for getting my Jane on.

Yet, after our disaster workout using modern methods the night before, I decided to give old Jane another try. Tape in hand, I trudged into my daughter’s small, cramped room and catapulted myself back to the early 90′s with Jane Fonda’s Lower Body Solution. And I soon realized something – this was the perfect workout for me.

It’s not too hard, but enough to get me sweating. I know all the moves – I’ve done the tape at least a hundred times. My daughter, who wanted to join me but quickly discovered there was no room for her to grapevine and knee lift along side me, was laughing at the fact that I could recite the prompts of the instructors even though I had not used the tape in at least 5 years. I finished the tape and felt great; like you are supposed to feel after a workout.

After a shower I went to our video store and handed in all my Jane tapes to be transferred to DVD. This way my girls and I can take over the living room and I can teach them the moves of Fonda Fitness. Maybe they will like it as much as I do.

In any case, I’m psyched that I found my Fonda. I’ll show that scale who’s boss.

